Lucian Freud Portraits, National Portrait Gallery, London, England

Posted on April 25, 2012 by

2


The National Portrait Gallery in London is a wonderful place to visit with a great collection, ever changing exhibitions and an engaging events programme.

Long before the exhibition had started I had booked tickets for Lucian Freud Portraits. My friends and I visited with high expectations and were not disappointed. Freud was working on the exhibition up until his death in July last year and demonstrates his immense abilities as a portrait painter.

Girl With A White Dog, 1950-51

We were unable to take pictures in the gallery but I’m borrowing some from the Tate website to demonstrate. This painting of Freud’s first wife when she was pregnant is so intimate, it makes me feel slightly uneasy just looking but her expression is irresistible. With a lot of works in the exhibit the most exciting part is trying to figure out the feelings conveyed by the sitter.

‘I work from people that interest me and that
I care about, in rooms that I live in and know’
Lucian Freud

Portrait of Queen Elizabeth II, 2001

Queenie is on display and was the subject of mixed reviews upon its unveiling. Personally I think of the Queen as another sitter rather than as a royal figure. The painting might not be flattering at first but you can certainly see her majesty shining through. What do you think?

Freud is undeniably the greatest realist painter of our time and with 130 works on display if you can get down to this show it closes on 27 May 2012.

A full listing of the works on display and descriptions of them can be downloaded here

Location: St Martin’s Place, London, WC2H 0HE

Entry Fee: Adult £15.40

Advance booking is recommended and tickets are available here

General Admission to the National Portrait Gallery is FREE