Warwick Castle, Warwickshire, England

Posted on May 30, 2012 by

4


In December 2011 Paula Acton visited Warwick Castle, here are her words and pictures on this incredible historic site that dates back to 914AD. Simply astounding…

Horses Armour on display in the Great Hall it is fascinating to see the work that has been put into the animals protection is of the same quality as that of it’s rider.  The armour was not just for battle purposes but a sign of the wealth of its owner very much like todays car the horse was not only a means of transport but also a status symbol.

The huge tressle tables in the great hall were laid for a more modern manner of feasting but gave a really good impression of what it must have been like to attend a medieval banquet in such splendid surroundings.

I wish I had got a picture of the other half stood next to this as one of the things that struck him quite profoundly was just how short people were back then.  My other half is six foot one and was almost a foot taller than the tallest suit of armour we saw.  It is also interesting when you considered how strong these men must have been to wield weapons while wearing these cumbersome suits.

When you consider the alternative to death on the battlefield though I think if I was facing defeat I would have been tempted to simply strip my armour off and throw myself into the fray in the hopes of a quick dispatch. The medieval form of justice certainly would be seen as a deterrent these days basically you are thrown into a dank cell if you are lucky and then have to battle it out with the other occupants for any sort of nourishment that is thrown in.

If you are unlucky then special treatment awaited you in many forms, I know you guys have the imaginations to come up with a few forms of torture without any prompting.

There were the most stunning views over the river from here and the steep drop behind the castle shows just how difficult it would have been to capture the castle.

The next few pics are of the Trebuchet and the Ballista that they have there both are working examples and if you time your visit right then you can see them in action. There are lots of events at Warwick Castle, you can find out more here

The thing I was most proud of during my visit was I overcame my fear of height enough to climb up the ramparts. While it is never possible to fully research everything about a subject I do think where you can you should.  With this repeating through my head I set off up the stairs to the uppermost reaches of the ramparts.  Now first let me say I gained a new respect for those soldiers and peasants who were forced to ascend these steps to defend the castle or deliver supplies.  Fair enough the people were a lot smaller, but those twisting staircases are enough to make anyone dizzy at normal speed with their tight turns.  The views were spectacular, and it really did give me a better idea about what it would have been like ascending those towers and overseeing your kingdom.

Entry Fee: £30 for one – reduced rates can be found on the website

Location: Warwick Castle, Warwick, Warwickshire, England, CV34 4QU

